Oblivious White Man (Poem)

Here we have another white man

Telling me to be grateful for the opportunities that he gave to me.

Gave 

To me.

When he took and continues to take 

More than he has ever given.
White man telling me 

that he done so much for my family. 

Right, 

and I’m meant to be alright,

I’m meant to say

“thank you”

in an ever so polite

tone. 
Until he demands my possessions, 
tells me to “go home”, 
then he is surprised at my aggression.
Which,

on a micro scale

he has been giving us

every single day.
But he is oblivious,

As the white man usually is.

– Shazmeen

One thought on “Oblivious White Man (Poem)

Leave a Reply

