White Feminism (Poem)

I’m not here to congratulate
white feminism,
to applaud when she dyes her armpit hair blue
When she still laughs at the hair on my upper lip and on the sides of my face.

To give her a gold star when she says

“Coloured women are beautiful too!”

Because we are not.

I am not.
I’m not beautiful “too”. As if I am being measured up,
against whiteness.

We are not beautiful “too”

We were inherently beautiful,
before you realised it,
before you wanted to be praised for acknowledging it.

I’m not going to congratulate you,

White feminist,

When you finally recognise colour
After making it seem ugly
For so long.

Telling me that I’m beautiful,
Doesn’t atone for your


White
White
White
Past.

– Shazmeen خالد

Leave a Reply

